# Sapphire Princess

- Kind: ship
- Data version: 2026-10-14
- Reference month: 2026-10
- Checked: 2026-10-09
- Page: https://cruise-pitta.com/en/ship/sapphire-princess

For reference only. Bookings, prices and schedules are not guaranteed. Check current details with the official provider.

## Overview

- Cruise line: Princess Cruises
- Size: Large
- Market segment: Unknown
- Ship: Sapphire Princess
- Class: Grand
- Year built: refurbished 2025
- Region: Japan & Asia

A Grand-class ship in service since 2004, a large vessel of about 115,900 GT with room for roughly 2,670 guests and 18 decks. Her sister is Diamond Princess. A two-week dry dock in Portland in autumn 2025 added the sushi restaurant Makoto Ocean and the steakhouse Crown Grill. She also has the adults-only Sanctuary and outdoor Movies Under the Stars. A Japan season from the Tokyo area is planned for March to December 2027, and she also sails to Mexico, South America, Europe and Canada.

- Adult-oriented
- First-time cruise friendly
- Senior-friendly

Checked: 2026-10-09

[See the ship’s size](https://cruise-pitta.com/en/ship/sapphire-princess/scale)

## Specifications

Checked: 2026-10-09

| Item | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Gross tonnage | 115,875 GT |
| Passenger capacity | 2,670 |
| Crew | 1,100 |
| Decks | 18 |
| Cabins | 1,337 |
| Length | 290.17 m (952 ft) |
| Year built | 2004 |
| IMO number | 9228186 |

## Ship character

Checked: 2026-10-09

| Item | Score (0–5) |
| --- | --- |
| Families | 3 |
| Adults | 4 |
| Luxury | 3 |
| First-time cruisers | 5 |
| Entertainment | 3 |
| Dining | 4 |
| Japanese-language support | 5 |

### Great for

Japan-based cruises in 2027
Travelers who want a large ship's facilities
Those who like a quiet adults-only area

### Less suited to

Travelers who prefer a small ship
Travelers seeking a brand-new ship

## Japanese language support and practical onboard information

A guide to public baths, Japanese food and language support, payment in yen, smoking, dress codes and power outlets, based on available official and other sources. Details may vary by itinerary and season. Check the official website for current information.

| Item | Value | Label | Description | Scope | Sources | Checked |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Public bath | Similar facilities, such as a thermal suite | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Japanese food | Unknown | Secondary source | — | — | [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/news/news-releases/2025/10/sapphire-princess-returns-from-drydock-featuring-fresh-enhancements-and-new-specialty-restaurants) | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Japanese language support | Some Japanese language support | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Payment in yen | Payment in yen not accepted | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Smoking | Smoking in designated areas only | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Dress code | Formal nights | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Power outlets | Not stated in official sources | Not stated | Unconfirmed | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |

Official: confirmed by the cruise line or another official source / Secondary source: confirmed by other sources / Estimated: inferred by Cruise Pitta / Not stated: no information found in official sources

English text in preparation.

## At a glance

Checked: 2026-10-09

- Japanese support rating (editorial): 5/5

Five-point rating of the scope of Japanese-language services

## Cabins by category

Checked: 2026-10-09

| Cabins | Description | Cabin count / recommended decks | Size | Capacity / beds | Features | Links |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Suites with private balconies | Unknown | 28 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: Yes, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Family suites with interconnecting cabins | Unknown | 2 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: Yes, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Yes, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Mini-suites with private balconies | Unknown | 186 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: Yes, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Balcony cabins | Unknown | 522 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: Yes, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Ocean view cabins | Unknown | 216 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: No, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Inside cabins | Unknown | 366 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: No, Window: No, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |

Approximate figures from official and reliable sources. Cabins vary by ship, category, and sailing.

Links generally lead to official pages; some have not been verified.

## Dining

Checked: 2026-10-09

- Onboard currency: USD

### Included in the fare (no extra charge)

#### International / Pacific Moon / Santa Fe / Vivaldi dining rooms

- Category: Included

#### Horizon Court

- Category: Included

#### Trident Grill

- Category: Included

#### Prego Pizzeria

- Category: Included

#### International Cafe

- Category: Included

#### Swirls

- Category: Included

### Specialty dining (prices in the onboard currency)

#### Crown Grill

- Category: Extra charge
- Cover charge (onboard currency): $60 per person

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/news/news-releases/2025/10/sapphire-princess-returns-from-drydock-featuring-fresh-enhancements-and-new-specialty-restaurants) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Makoto Ocean

- Category: Extra charge
- Cover charge (onboard currency): $60 per person

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/news/news-releases/2025/10/sapphire-princess-returns-from-drydock-featuring-fresh-enhancements-and-new-specialty-restaurants) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Sabatini's

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Churrascaria Brazilian Grill

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Alfredo's Pizzeria

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Ultimate Balcony Dining

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

## Facilities and activities

Checked: 2026-10-09

| Facilities | Category | Kind | Scope | Amount | Description | Links |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| The Sanctuary | Extra charge | Spa | Adults only: Yes, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |

## Families, adults-only areas, and practical information

Checked: 2026-10-09

### Adults-only areas

- The Sanctuary

### Practical information (line-wide)

| Item | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Onboard currency | USD |
| Gratuities | Charged automatically to your onboard account for each day under the name "Crew Appreciation." Prepayment is also possible. Guests on Standard fares are charged automatically every day, but the amount can be adjusted at Guest Services (it cannot be abolished, but you can ask to increase or reduce it). If you have purchased the Princess Plus or Princess Premier package, this Crew Appreciation is included in the package price and is not billed separately. Also, from March 2026 the service charge on food and beverage purchases was raised from 18% to 20%. |
| Payment | Cashless onboard |
| Voltage | 110V/60Hz (North American specification is standard; on some ships, 220V European sockets are also provided) |
| Formal nights | They are scheduled according to cruise length, at roughly 1 for every 4 to 6 nights. Short cruises of 1 to 4 days have none; typically there is 1 for 5 to 6 days and about 2 for 7 to 13 days. |
| Medical facilities | Doctors and nurses are on board 24 hours a day, but the doctors are independent contractors and consultations are charged. As a guide, a consultation during regular hours is said to cost around $100, after-hours visits more ($165 or so), and cabin visits more still (about $205) in some cases. Travel insurance cannot be used directly on board; the charge is first billed to your onboard account, and after disembarking you submit the receipt to your own insurer to claim a refund. |
| Bringing items onboard | Each passenger aged 21 or over (the legal drinking age) may bring only 1 bottle (750 ml) of wine or champagne on board, and no corkage fee is charged for drinking it in your cabin. Bringing beer and spirits is prohibited, and they are confiscated if found. A corkage fee of $20 per bottle applies for additional bottles brought on board or for bottles opened in public areas such as restaurants, regardless of the number of bottles. Alcohol purchased at ports of call or in duty-free shops is held by the ship until the day of disembarkation. |
| Mobile and connectivity | With "Cellular at Sea," which uses satellite communication (via Wireless Maritime Services), regular mobile phone use is possible at sea if your carrier has a roaming agreement. However, maritime roaming tends to be expensive at about $2 to $6 per MB, so it is advisable to check in advance whether your carrier offers a package for sea cruises. If you subscribe to MedallionNet Wi-Fi, you can use data-based calling apps such as WhatsApp, FaceTime Audio and Wi-Fi calling, and going through Wi-Fi is a realistic alternative if you want to keep communication costs down. |

- Japanese support: Staff: Partial / Menus: Partial / Announcements: Partial

Checked: 2026-07-03

- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/cruise-deals-promotions/plus-premier-cruise-packages)
- [princesscruisesblog.com](https://www.princesscruisesblog.com/blog/princess-fare-types)
- [benanddavid.cruises](https://benanddavid.cruises/blog/princess-cruises-premier-plus-packages-2026-update)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/ocean-faq)
- [icruise.com](https://www.icruise.com/cruise-lines/princess-cruises-smoking-policy.html)
- [emmacruises.com](https://emmacruises.com/cruise-ship-plug-socket-guide/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/medallionnet)
- [thepointsguy.com](https://thepointsguy.com/cruise/cruise-ships-medical-centers/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/plan/oceanready)
- [cruisemummy.co.uk](https://www.cruisemummy.co.uk/princess-cruises-dress-code-amp-packing-guide/)

## Itineraries on this ship

### [12-Night Japan & Asia Cruise from Yokohama](https://cruise-pitta.com/route/sapphire-princess-12n-yokohama)

- Region: Japan & Asia
- Itinerary: Mar 2027
- Departure months: 2027-03
- Ship: Sapphire Princess
- Cruise line: Princess Cruises
- Duration: 12 nights
- Departure / arrival: Yokohama → Yokohama
- Port: Yokohama › Nagoya › Toba › +7 › Yokohama
- Cruise type: Round trip / 11
- Amount: From £1,211.00 · Price on the UK site (GBP, incl. taxes; JPY is an estimate)
- Fare level: Lower

Checked: 2026-10-09

### [13-Night Japan & Asia Cruise from Yokohama](https://cruise-pitta.com/route/sapphire-princess-13n-yokohama)

- Region: Japan & Asia
- Itinerary: Apr 2027
- Departure months: 2027-04
- Ship: Sapphire Princess
- Cruise line: Princess Cruises
- Duration: 13 nights
- Departure / arrival: Yokohama → Yokohama
- Port: Yokohama › Miyako (Iwate) › Hakodate › +8 › Yokohama
- Cruise type: Round trip / 12
- Amount: From £1,255.00 · Price on the UK site (GBP, incl. taxes; JPY is an estimate)
- Fare level: Lower

Checked: 2026-10-09

## What is included and what costs extra

Checked: 2026-10-09

### Onboard costs (original currency)

- Onboard currency: USD

| Item | Category | Amount |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Drinks (one beer) | Extra charge | Unknown |
| Drink package | Extra charge | Princess Plus includes up to 15 drinks per day, such as beer, wine, cocktails and soft drinks priced at $15 or less each (specialty coffee and tea do not count toward the drink limit) (1-device Wi-Fi included). Princess Premier raises the per-drink limit to $20 and lets you enjoy almost unlimited drinks including premium brands (4-device Wi-Fi included). If you buy the beverage package on its own without a bundle, the guide is about $85 per day plus a 20% service charge (varies by purchase channel and timing). (Estimated) |
| Wi‑Fi | Unknown | Princess Plus includes MedallionNet Max (high-speed connection) for 1 device, and Princess Premier includes it for 4 devices. If you buy on its own without a package, MedallionNet Classic is about $24.99 per day per device as a guide (bought in advance), and multi-day passes are said to be about $65 to $100 if bought in advance and about $70 to $105 if bought onboard. Loyalty members at Platinum level and above receive a 50% discount when purchasing. (Estimated) |
| Gratuities (automatic service charge) | Extra charge | $18/day for standard cabins; $19/day for mini-suites, Club Class, and Reserve; $20/day for suites (Estimated) |
| Laundry | Unknown | Each ship has self-service laundries that accept coins or MedallionPay. Washing and drying each cost about $2 to 3 per load as a guide, and detergent about $1.25 (varies by source). Irons and ironing boards are free to use. Staffed full-service options (finishing, dry cleaning) can also be ordered for an additional fee, and top-tier loyalty members (Captain's Circle Elite) get regular-finish laundry service free. (Estimated) |
| Shore excursions | Unknown | Extra; varies by port (Estimated) |

Prices are shown in the onboard currency; no currency conversion is applied.

Checked: 2026-07-03

- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/cruise-deals-promotions/plus-premier-cruise-packages)
- [princesscruisesblog.com](https://www.princesscruisesblog.com/blog/princess-fare-types)
- [benanddavid.cruises](https://benanddavid.cruises/blog/princess-cruises-premier-plus-packages-2026-update)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/ocean-faq)
- [icruise.com](https://www.icruise.com/cruise-lines/princess-cruises-smoking-policy.html)
- [emmacruises.com](https://emmacruises.com/cruise-ship-plug-socket-guide/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/medallionnet)
- [thepointsguy.com](https://thepointsguy.com/cruise/cruise-ships-medical-centers/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/plan/oceanready)
- [cruisemummy.co.uk](https://www.cruisemummy.co.uk/princess-cruises-dress-code-amp-packing-guide/)

## Links

### Official

- [Official ship page](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/ships/sa-sapphire-princess/)

### Cabins, dining, facilities and ship details

- [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet)
- [View official site](https://www.princess.com/news/news-releases/2025/10/sapphire-princess-returns-from-drydock-featuring-fresh-enhancements-and-new-specialty-restaurants)

### External sites and sources

- [en.wikipedia.org](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sapphire_Princess)
- [wikidata.org](https://www.wikidata.org/wiki/Special:EntityData/Q1514518.json)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/cruise-deals-promotions/plus-premier-cruise-packages)
- [princesscruisesblog.com](https://www.princesscruisesblog.com/blog/princess-fare-types)
- [benanddavid.cruises](https://benanddavid.cruises/blog/princess-cruises-premier-plus-packages-2026-update)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/ocean-faq)
- [icruise.com](https://www.icruise.com/cruise-lines/princess-cruises-smoking-policy.html)
- [emmacruises.com](https://emmacruises.com/cruise-ship-plug-socket-guide/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/medallionnet)
- [thepointsguy.com](https://thepointsguy.com/cruise/cruise-ships-medical-centers/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/plan/oceanready)
- [cruisemummy.co.uk](https://www.cruisemummy.co.uk/princess-cruises-dress-code-amp-packing-guide/)
- [View on VesselFinder (IMO 9228186)](https://www.vesselfinder.com/vessels/details/9228186)

### Related Cruise Pitta pages

- [See the ship’s size](https://cruise-pitta.com/en/ship/sapphire-princess/scale)
- [12-Night Japan & Asia Cruise from Yokohama](https://cruise-pitta.com/route/sapphire-princess-12n-yokohama)
- [13-Night Japan & Asia Cruise from Yokohama](https://cruise-pitta.com/route/sapphire-princess-13n-yokohama)

## Current position (external site)

[View on VesselFinder (IMO 9228186)](https://www.vesselfinder.com/vessels/details/9228186)

External site. Position information has not been checked by Cruise Pitta.

Checked: none (unverified)

## About this data

- Ship detail verification: Source unverified

Checked: 2026-10-09

[Official ship page](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/ships/sa-sapphire-princess/)

Photo: Tony Hisgett from Birmingham, UK / CC BY 2.0 / https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sapphire_Princess_2_(8048411562).jpg

## Sources

- official: princess.com — https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/ships/sa-sapphire-princess/
- official: princess.com — https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/sapphire-princess-fact-sheet
- official: princess.com — https://www.princess.com/news/news-releases/2025/10/sapphire-princess-returns-from-drydock-featuring-fresh-enhancements-and-new-specialty-restaurants
- encyclopedia: en.wikipedia.org — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sapphire_Princess
- encyclopedia: wikidata.org — https://www.wikidata.org/wiki/Special:EntityData/Q1514518.json

Source: Wikipedia “[Sapphire Princess](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sapphire_Princess)” ([CC BY-SA 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/))
