# Grand Princess

- Kind: ship
- Data version: 2026-10-14
- Reference month: 2026-10
- Checked: 2026-10-09
- Page: https://cruise-pitta.com/en/ship/grand-princess

For reference only. Bookings, prices and schedules are not guaranteed. Check current details with the official provider.

## Overview

- Cruise line: Princess Cruises
- Size: Large
- Market segment: Unknown
- Ship: Grand Princess
- Class: Grand class
- Region: Unknown

The first of the Grand class, entering service in May 1998, at about 107,500 GT with room for roughly 2,600 guests, 17 decks and about 1,300 staterooms. Registered in Bermuda, she is listed on her ship page for the Southern Caribbean and Alaska, and South Pacific sailings from Sydney are also planned. She has the adults-only Sanctuary, outdoor Movies Under the Stars and a Piazza-style atrium. She is reported to have been refitted in 2009 and 2011, but her most recent refit year is unconfirmed.

- Adult-oriented
- Family-friendly
- First-time cruise friendly

Checked: 2026-10-09

[See the ship’s size](https://cruise-pitta.com/en/ship/grand-princess/scale)

## Specifications

Checked: 2026-10-09

| Item | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Gross tonnage | 107,517 GT |
| Passenger capacity | 2,610 |
| Crew | 1,150 |
| Decks | 17 |
| Cabins | 1,303 |
| Length | 289.255 m (949 ft) |
| Year built | 1998 |
| IMO number | 9104005 |

## Ship character

Checked: 2026-10-09

| Item | Score (0–5) |
| --- | --- |
| Families | 3 |
| Adults | 4 |
| Luxury | 3 |
| First-time cruisers | 4 |
| Entertainment | 4 |
| Dining | 4 |
| Japanese-language support | 1 |

### Great for

Caribbean and Alaska itineraries
Sydney-based sailings from 2027
Those who like an adults-only area

### Less suited to

Travelers wanting a newly built ship
Travelers who prefer a quiet small ship

## Japanese language support and practical onboard information

A guide to public baths, Japanese food and language support, payment in yen, smoking, dress codes and power outlets, based on available official and other sources. Details may vary by itinerary and season. Check the official website for current information.

| Item | Value | Label | Description | Scope | Sources | Checked |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Public bath | Similar facilities, such as a thermal suite | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Japanese food | Unknown | Secondary source | — | — | [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Japanese language support | Some Japanese language support | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Payment in yen | Payment in yen not accepted | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Smoking | Smoking in designated areas only | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Dress code | Formal nights | Estimated | — | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Power outlets | Not stated in official sources | Not stated | Unconfirmed | — | Unknown | Checked: 2026-10-09 |

Official: confirmed by the cruise line or another official source / Secondary source: confirmed by other sources / Estimated: inferred by Cruise Pitta / Not stated: no information found in official sources

English text in preparation.

## At a glance

Checked: 2026-10-09

- Japanese support rating (editorial): 1/5

Five-point rating of the scope of Japanese-language services

## Cabins by category

Checked: 2026-10-09

| Cabins | Description | Cabin count / recommended decks | Size | Capacity / beds | Features | Links |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Suite | Unknown | 37 cabins | 42.74–86.59 m² (460–932 ft²) (Estimated) | Unknown | Balcony: Yes, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Mini-Suite | Unknown | 180 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: Yes, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Balcony | Unknown | 502 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: Yes, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Outside (Oceanview) | Unknown | 218 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: No, Window: Yes, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Inside (Interior) | Unknown | 366 cabins | Unknown | Unknown | Balcony: No, Window: No, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Two Bedroom Family Suite | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | 8 | Balcony: Yes, Window: Unknown, Concierge: Unknown, Connecting: Unknown, Solo: Unknown, Accessible: Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |

Approximate figures from official and reliable sources. Cabins vary by ship, category, and sailing.

Links generally lead to official pages; some have not been verified.

## Dining

Checked: 2026-10-09

- Onboard currency: USD

### Included in the fare (no extra charge)

#### Main Dining Room (Botticelli / Da Vinci / Michelangelo)

- Category: Included

#### Horizon Court (World Fresh Marketplace)

- Category: Included

#### International Café

- Category: Included

#### Slice Pizzeria

- Category: Included

#### Coffee & Cones

- Category: Included

#### The Salty Dog Grill

- Category: Included

#### Afternoon Tea

- Category: Included

### Specialty dining (prices in the onboard currency)

#### Crown Grill

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Sabatini's Italian Trattoria

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Alfredo's Pizzeria

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Chef's Table

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Ultimate Balcony Dining

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Crab Shack

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### The Salty Dog Gastropub

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

#### Vines Wine Bar

- Category: Extra charge

[View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09

## Facilities and activities

Checked: 2026-10-09

| Facilities | Category | Kind | Scope | Amount | Description | Links |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Pools and whirlpool spas | Included | Pool | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| The Conservatory | Included | Pool | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| The Sanctuary | Extra charge | Spa | Adults only: Yes, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Lotus Spa and Fitness Center | Extra charge | Spa | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Grand Casino | Included | Casino | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Princess Theater | Included | Theater | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Movies Under the Stars | Included | Cinema | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Vista Show Lounge | Included | Theater | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| The One5 | Included | Bar | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Wheelhouse Bar | Included | Bar | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Kids and Teens centers (Just For Kids 3-7 / 8-12, Just For Teens 13-17) | Included | Kids | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Sports Court and Princess Links putting course | Included | Sports | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Wedding Chapel | Extra charge | Other | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |
| Piazza atrium and The Shops of Princess | Included | Other | Adults only: No, For children: Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/) (Unverified) / Checked: 2026-10-09 |

## Families, adults-only areas, and practical information

Checked: 2026-10-09

### Adults-only areas

- The Sanctuary

### Practical information (line-wide)

| Item | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Onboard currency | USD |
| Gratuities | Charged automatically to your onboard account for each day under the name "Crew Appreciation." Prepayment is also possible. Guests on Standard fares are charged automatically every day, but the amount can be adjusted at Guest Services (it cannot be abolished, but you can ask to increase or reduce it). If you have purchased the Princess Plus or Princess Premier package, this Crew Appreciation is included in the package price and is not billed separately. Also, from March 2026 the service charge on food and beverage purchases was raised from 18% to 20%. |
| Payment | Cashless onboard |
| Voltage | 110V/60Hz (North American specification is standard; on some ships, 220V European sockets are also provided) |
| Formal nights | They are scheduled according to cruise length, at roughly 1 for every 4 to 6 nights. Short cruises of 1 to 4 days have none; typically there is 1 for 5 to 6 days and about 2 for 7 to 13 days. |
| Medical facilities | Doctors and nurses are on board 24 hours a day, but the doctors are independent contractors and consultations are charged. As a guide, a consultation during regular hours is said to cost around $100, after-hours visits more ($165 or so), and cabin visits more still (about $205) in some cases. Travel insurance cannot be used directly on board; the charge is first billed to your onboard account, and after disembarking you submit the receipt to your own insurer to claim a refund. |
| Bringing items onboard | Each passenger aged 21 or over (the legal drinking age) may bring only 1 bottle (750 ml) of wine or champagne on board, and no corkage fee is charged for drinking it in your cabin. Bringing beer and spirits is prohibited, and they are confiscated if found. A corkage fee of $20 per bottle applies for additional bottles brought on board or for bottles opened in public areas such as restaurants, regardless of the number of bottles. Alcohol purchased at ports of call or in duty-free shops is held by the ship until the day of disembarkation. |
| Mobile and connectivity | With "Cellular at Sea," which uses satellite communication (via Wireless Maritime Services), regular mobile phone use is possible at sea if your carrier has a roaming agreement. However, maritime roaming tends to be expensive at about $2 to $6 per MB, so it is advisable to check in advance whether your carrier offers a package for sea cruises. If you subscribe to MedallionNet Wi-Fi, you can use data-based calling apps such as WhatsApp, FaceTime Audio and Wi-Fi calling, and going through Wi-Fi is a realistic alternative if you want to keep communication costs down. |

- Japanese support: Staff: Partial / Menus: Partial / Announcements: Partial

Checked: 2026-07-03

- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/cruise-deals-promotions/plus-premier-cruise-packages)
- [princesscruisesblog.com](https://www.princesscruisesblog.com/blog/princess-fare-types)
- [benanddavid.cruises](https://benanddavid.cruises/blog/princess-cruises-premier-plus-packages-2026-update)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/ocean-faq)
- [icruise.com](https://www.icruise.com/cruise-lines/princess-cruises-smoking-policy.html)
- [emmacruises.com](https://emmacruises.com/cruise-ship-plug-socket-guide/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/medallionnet)
- [thepointsguy.com](https://thepointsguy.com/cruise/cruise-ships-medical-centers/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/plan/oceanready)
- [cruisemummy.co.uk](https://www.cruisemummy.co.uk/princess-cruises-dress-code-amp-packing-guide/)

## What is included and what costs extra

Checked: 2026-10-09

### Onboard costs (original currency)

- Onboard currency: USD

| Item | Category | Amount |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Drinks (one beer) | Extra charge | Unknown |
| Drink package | Extra charge | Princess Plus includes up to 15 drinks per day, such as beer, wine, cocktails and soft drinks priced at $15 or less each (specialty coffee and tea do not count toward the drink limit) (1-device Wi-Fi included). Princess Premier raises the per-drink limit to $20 and lets you enjoy almost unlimited drinks including premium brands (4-device Wi-Fi included). If you buy the beverage package on its own without a bundle, the guide is about $85 per day plus a 20% service charge (varies by purchase channel and timing). (Estimated) |
| Wi‑Fi | Unknown | Princess Plus includes MedallionNet Max (high-speed connection) for 1 device, and Princess Premier includes it for 4 devices. If you buy on its own without a package, MedallionNet Classic is about $24.99 per day per device as a guide (bought in advance), and multi-day passes are said to be about $65 to $100 if bought in advance and about $70 to $105 if bought onboard. Loyalty members at Platinum level and above receive a 50% discount when purchasing. (Estimated) |
| Gratuities (automatic service charge) | Unknown | After the March 2026 revision, the standard rates are $18 per day for standard cabins, $19 per day for Mini-Suites/Club Class/Reserve and $20 per day for suites (per person, the same amount for children). Guests who buy a Plus or Premier package are not charged extra. (Estimated) |
| Laundry | Unknown | Each ship has self-service laundries that accept coins or MedallionPay. Washing and drying each cost about $2 to 3 per load as a guide, and detergent about $1.25 (varies by source). Irons and ironing boards are free to use. Staffed full-service options (finishing, dry cleaning) can also be ordered for an additional fee, and top-tier loyalty members (Captain's Circle Elite) get regular-finish laundry service free. (Estimated) |
| Shore excursions | Unknown | Extra; varies by port (Estimated) |

Prices are shown in the onboard currency; no currency conversion is applied.

Checked: 2026-07-03

- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/cruise-deals-promotions/plus-premier-cruise-packages)
- [princesscruisesblog.com](https://www.princesscruisesblog.com/blog/princess-fare-types)
- [benanddavid.cruises](https://benanddavid.cruises/blog/princess-cruises-premier-plus-packages-2026-update)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/ocean-faq)
- [icruise.com](https://www.icruise.com/cruise-lines/princess-cruises-smoking-policy.html)
- [emmacruises.com](https://emmacruises.com/cruise-ship-plug-socket-guide/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/medallionnet)
- [thepointsguy.com](https://thepointsguy.com/cruise/cruise-ships-medical-centers/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/plan/oceanready)
- [cruisemummy.co.uk](https://www.cruisemummy.co.uk/princess-cruises-dress-code-amp-packing-guide/)

## Links

### Official

- [Official ship page](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/)

### Cabins, dining, facilities and ship details

- [View official site](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet)

### External sites and sources

- [en.wikipedia.org](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_Princess)
- [wikidata.org](https://www.wikidata.org/wiki/Special:EntityData/Q747465.json)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/cruise-deals-promotions/plus-premier-cruise-packages)
- [princesscruisesblog.com](https://www.princesscruisesblog.com/blog/princess-fare-types)
- [benanddavid.cruises](https://benanddavid.cruises/blog/princess-cruises-premier-plus-packages-2026-update)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/ocean-faq)
- [icruise.com](https://www.icruise.com/cruise-lines/princess-cruises-smoking-policy.html)
- [emmacruises.com](https://emmacruises.com/cruise-ship-plug-socket-guide/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/ships-and-experience/princess-medallionclass/medallionnet)
- [thepointsguy.com](https://thepointsguy.com/cruise/cruise-ships-medical-centers/)
- [princess.com](https://www.princess.com/plan/oceanready)
- [cruisemummy.co.uk](https://www.cruisemummy.co.uk/princess-cruises-dress-code-amp-packing-guide/)
- [View on VesselFinder (IMO 9104005)](https://www.vesselfinder.com/vessels/details/9104005)

### Related Cruise Pitta pages

- [See the ship’s size](https://cruise-pitta.com/en/ship/grand-princess/scale)

## Current position (external site)

[View on VesselFinder (IMO 9104005)](https://www.vesselfinder.com/vessels/details/9104005)

External site. Position information has not been checked by Cruise Pitta.

Checked: none (unverified)

## About this data

- Ship detail verification: Source unverified

Checked: 2026-10-09

[Official ship page](https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/)

Photo: Damian Gadal / CC BY 2.0 / https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Grand_Princess_(ship,_1998)_001.jpg

## Sources

- official: princess.com — https://www.princess.com/en-uk/ships-and-experience/ships/ap-grand-princess/
- official: princess.com — https://www.princess.com/en-uk/news/backgrounders-and-fact-sheets/grand-princess-fact-sheet
- encyclopedia: en.wikipedia.org — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_Princess
- encyclopedia: wikidata.org — https://www.wikidata.org/wiki/Special:EntityData/Q747465.json

Source: Wikipedia “[Grand Princess](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_Princess)” ([CC BY-SA 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/))
